Content Schedule

Pre-lecture music playlist | Song Request Form

Note: Order of lecture topics may change.

Date Lesson Reading Cloud Live! Lecture Video HW Quiz
Wed, Feb 20 hw03: Data Frames, Logic, and Vectors Oh My!
Wed, Feb 20 Linear Regression
Tue, Feb 19 Week 6: Working with Data - Part II
Mon, Feb 18 Randomness
PART 3: Modeling
Fri, Feb 15 Loop-the-Loops
Wed, Feb 13 hw02: Seize the Data
Wed, Feb 13 Data Oddities
Mon, Feb 11 Continued: Derived Variables
Fri, Feb 08 Derived Variables
Wed, Feb 06 Comparing Data
Tue, Feb 05 Week 4: Working with Data - Part I
Mon, Feb 04 Transforming Data
Fri, Feb 01 Importing Data
Wed, Jan 30 hw01: Struck from a Great Height
Wed, Jan 30 Winter Weather: Lecture Cancelled
Mon, Jan 28 Navigating Data (Continued)
Fri, Jan 25 Week 2: Welcome to the Jungle
Fri, Jan 25 Navigating Data
PART 2: Working with Data
Wed, Jan 23 Git and GitHub
Mon, Jan 21 MLK Day: Class Cancelled
Fri, Jan 18 Week 1: Syllabus Quiz
Fri, Jan 18 Literate Programming
Wed, Jan 16 Tools for Analysis
Mon, Jan 14 Course Introduction
PART 1: Tools for Reproducibility

Important Academic Dates for Spring 2019

  • January 28th - last day to add the course without instructor approval.
  • March 8th - last day to drop the course without a W.

Icon Key

  • Reading: Selected passages in textbooks, posts, or code.
  • Cloud: Pre-defined RStudio Cloud project with lecture code for instant exploration.
    • Make sure to click “Save a Permanent Copy” to avoid losing your changes.
  • Live: Live code from the instructor’s podium.
    • Make sure to “Refresh” (MacOS: Command + R, Windows/Linux: F5) the page to receive the latest code.
  • Lecture: Slides used in lecture.
  • Videos: Online videos that accompany lecture topics.
  • HW: Homework assignment details.
  • Quiz: Weekly quiz study guides.